39th Colombo has been fortunate to have consistently numbered among its ranks leaders who contributed to the development of Scouting in Sri Lanka. Mr. N.G. Abeynaike, the first Headmaster, held both the Cub and Scout Wood Badge and, at the time of his death in 1951, was a Deputy Camp Chief (now known as Leader Trainer) in the movement. Mr. Faith Obeysekera’s contribution in those early years cannot be overstated. Headmaster J.S.L. Fernando had been a Scout at S. Thomas’ College Mount Lavinia, and was a long-standing member of the National Scout Council, the executive branch overseeing the countrywide movement. Mr. Maurice Weragoda has achieved the Wood Badge, as well as numerous awards and the Medal of Merit from the President of Sri Lanka for services to Scouting. Long serving Cub Scout Akelas such Mrs. S.J.S. Peramune, and others such as Ms. R. Sethua, Anusha Perera, E.R. Jebaratnam, Selvaratnam, Yoga Sathasivam, and Elsie Benedict contributed much to the development of the Cub Packs and the movement in Sri Lanka. The School can never forget the contributions of the two grande dames of the 39th Colombo Cub Pack, Ms. Charika Muttiah, famed in both Prep School and the Colombo District association for her organizational and administrative skills, and Ms. Gita Perera, who went on to be the Assistant Chief Commissioner for Cub Scouting in Sri Lanka. The generations of Cubs, and indeed, all Prep School students who were in their care at School are indeed grateful for the foundation these two ladies laid in their lives. Their protégé, Ms. Yvonne Charles, has since 1993 continued their good work in the Cub and Scout groups at 39th Colombo, and is today considered to be the rock on which Prep Scouting stands. She also held the role of Assistant District Commissioner for Cub Scouting in Colombo. After over a decade, we have a staff member fully committed to Scouting in Mr. Ravindu Hulladuwa, who has breathed new life in to the orderly administration of the Troop. And ever ready to support our every activity is Headmaster the Reverend Dushantha Rodrigo, who has not only taken the time to fully immerse himself by visiting our camps and activities, but envisions a Troop of 100 boys in the near future; something we hope will be a reality very soon.

39th Colombo may be the only Troop in Colombo to have produced two District Commissioners in the district- Mr. Suren Wikkramatilleke, our first President’s Scout, and Mr. Janaprith Fernando. Mr. Suren Wikkramatilleke served as District Commissioner of Colombo from 2015 to 2020 at a time of great development in the movement in Colombo.

This page is consists links for individual pages designed for distinguished leaders considered as “Troop Legends”